QRZ.COM
ad: Radclub22-1
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-rfparts
WE1RD USA flag USA

Login is required for additional detail.

Email: Login required to view

Ham Member Lookups: 15095

 

Howdy,

My name is Obie. I live in the small city of Richmond, Indiana located on the Indiana/Ohio border right on interstate 70. In addition to amateur radio, I enjoy playing guitar, photography, hiking/mountain climbing, hunting, and playing with my series 1 Bridgeport in the garage. I'm a member of the ARRL, ARES, Reid Hospital Emergency Communications, NWS storm spotter, Free and Accepted Masons Webb Lodge #24, and a local stock club. Currently I am the Vice President elect for the Whitewater Amateur Radio Club.

As with most shacks, mine is a work in progress. I use a Kenwood TS-2000 and a Yaesu FT-990 for HF rigs, an Ameritron AL-1200 for some DX punch, and a Kenwood TS-711 and TS-811 for VHF/UHF weak signal. I've been working on CW fairly regular and can send about 25wpm. However my receive is only about 10-15wpm, but I'm working on it. Depending on what rig I'm running in the car at the time, I might be playing with APRS (TM-D710) or rag chewing on D-star (ID-800).

I currently have one tower up as I took one down one this summer to make room for a new tower. I have a stack of Rohn 25G, new Yaesu rotor, Mosley Classic tri-band, Cushcraft A505, Cushcraft 13B2 (X2), and Cushcraft 719B (X2) that I will be installing this coming spring.

My wife Pam (KN1TTR) and I have been married for 10 years and enjoy spending time with each other. I came up with her vanity call one night when I couldn't sleep and fortunately it was available. She loves knitting and is very good at it. Pam is a family nurse practitioner, wonderful mother, and awesome wife.

My son Chris (KC9NPR) earned his amateur extra ticket in November 2009 at age 14. He attends Richmond High School, makes A's in the honor classes, plays trumpet in marching and concert band, and is just an overall great kid. I'm very proud to be his dad. Here he is playing a Gibson SG Standard that he saved his own money for.

I was able to talk my mother (KM0MMO) into getting her ticket about a year ago. I'm still working on some other members of the family. I'm very proud of my Mom. She had the courage to go back to school in her late 50's to earn her bachelor's degree in Nursing. She's currently a senior. Perhaps the most interesting part about my mom going back to school is that I am fortunate enough to be able to go to school with her. I am also a senior at Indiana University East School of Nursing and will be graduating along side my mother in the Spring of 2010.

Below is a picture of my cat Vinny. He is a Bengal and weighs in at around 30 pounds. He snores, grunts, and is just plain rude and disgusting. Judge for yourself.

Well, I guess that's enough about my family and me. If you want to know more, ask me via email or on the air. Often times I can be found on 20 or 40 meters calling CQ. For more local contacts, try the Richmond 70 cm repeater (444.350+, 127.3T), or just listen around. I love to get QSL cards in the mail, and will happily send one back.

73,

Obie

P.S. The top picture is of my friend Rusty, N8NRF (Rusty is wearing the Pink hat) and me at Dayton 2009.

6290915 Last modified: 2015-07-16 00:28:48, 3298 bytes

Login Required

Login is required for additional detail.


Apply for a new Vanity callsign...

You must be logged in to file a report on this page

Please login now...

Public Logbook data is temporarily not available for this user
ad: giga-db
Copyright © 2017 by QRZ.COM
Fri Nov 24 12:46:42 2017 UTC
CPU: 0.055 sec 59163 bytes mp